n queen topics
Home
Group actions
Search algorithm
Use symmetry, regular NQ problem
Evolution trees
Special properties
Necklaces
Conflicts
Conflict tables
Smallest solutions and greedy sequence
Tables of counting results
Images for n=8
Torus images for n=13
Other pages to the n queens problem
Bibliografy
 
 
Other themes
Primes from sums of factors
Primes from wrong binomic formula
Numbers by primes distribution
 
 
 
This page in another language
German

World records for the n queens problem

World records and world championship for the n queens problem

It is a big challenge to determine the number of solutions when the size of the board increases. This is especially true for the "normal" n-queens problem, to a lesser extent also for the torus problem. "Normal" solutions are much easier to find, but there are many more of them. For the torus problem, you can use the symmetries much better which compensates for the harder search.

Of course, it is a question of taste whether to call a new number for a bigger board as a world record. That's what we do here, but we do not mean it very serious. Practically, if you have found a new number, you put it into the On-Line Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences. So, your record is documented. You may then get questions or requests for partial results, from people who try to verify the new number.

Besides the basic counting, there is also a World Championship of n-queens computing; it is a competition. Several teams, which have prepared a program and often a special computer, get the task to count a known part of the problem again, and to do it in the shortest time. The last World Championship of n-queens computing I know was held in the year 2007 in Peking (China).

In the following table, I have compiled what I know about these world records. The abbreviation INRIA appears several times; it stands for "Institut National de Recherche en Informatique et en Automatique", the national institute of computer science and automation of France.

The regular n queens problem

Regular n-queens problem
up to n=11 The numbers were determined until 1890, in laborious manual work
n=12 und n=13 A. Kopfermann from Berlin (Germany) determines the numbers, manually; unfortunately, an error creeps in. in the year 1971, Mark B. Wells at Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory (USA) determines the correct numbers with a computer.
n=14 bis n=20 By use of computers, the numbers are found between 1972 and 1997; I do not know who found which number, and when it was found.
n=21 bis n=23 Sylvain Pion and Joel-Yann Fourre of INRIA, 1998. They use 300 processors, which count and search for two months.
n=24 A web project, NQueens@home, on the BOINC platform, computes the number; again, an error creeps in: some partial results were too big, there were undetected overflows of 32 bit integers arthmetic, the number is wrong (too small). On September 1, 2004, Kenji KISE from Japan found the correct numbers for Q24.
n=25 Denis Caromel (Nizza University, and at INRIA) determines the number Q25 in 2005. He usese 260 usual PCs, which work about three quaters of a year.
n=26 On July 11th, 2009, a team of TU Dresden (technical university of Dresden, Germany) published its result for Q26. The team consists of Thomas Preußer, Bernd Nägel, and Rainer Spallek. They have used FPGAs (= field programmable gate array) to find it. According to a publication of March, 2009, it is 11 computers controlling 377 FPGAs.
Shortly after that, on August 30th, 2009, the russian project MC# confirms the number. The project MC# has used two super computers, number 54 and 82 of the Top500 list of computers of June 2009. They needed the time from November 19th, 2008, to August 30th, 2009, for the computation. Yet, I do not know if they needed the complete time, or if they just used time not used by other projects.
n=27 On September 19, 2016, Thomas Preußer of TU Dresden and his team did it again:
Q27 = 234,907,967,154,122,528.
Again, they used FPGAs, which have evolved quite a bit, since 2009. Another point: this was the first time that symmetries were exploited in a better way (see also Use symmetry for regular n-queens problem). The team used coronal preplacements instead of the first columns. It was a two cell coronal margin, instead of six coulmns with the n=26 case. More information on Neuer Weltrekord für Queens@TUD-Team, a page of TU Dresden, at present in German.

The torus problem

For the torus variant, there are solutions only, if n is not divisible by 2 nor divisible by 3. Up to n=11, only regular solutions exist, what means that there is a constant distance from a queen in a row to the queen in the next row. The problem becomes intresting only from n=13.

n=13, n=17, n=19 I do not know who computed these numbers first. I would appreciate hints if you should know who it was, and when.
n=23 The number was computed first in a project concerning the programming language LeLisp; it was done on 20 SUN workstations at INRIA. It needed 267 days of CPU time, over all. I do not know when it was exactly, but it must have been before 1994.
n=25 December 17th, 1999, by the author of this site, Matthias Engelhardt; the search needed about 4 weeks of CPU time on a 75 MHz Intel computer. For the algorithm, the minimisation of the search space was most important.
n=29 January 11th, 2001, also by the author of this site. The search needed about 200 days of CPU time on a 300 MHz Intel computer. For the final compilation of all solutions, a 800 MHz computer was used, which needed about 2 days. The serch algorithm is described here; it uses the group action "congruency on torus".
n=31 May 1st, 2005, also by the author of this site. Again, the search lasted about 200 days, using five PCs of 120 MHz, 300 MHz, 800 MHz, 1,6 GHz and 1,9 GHz. Therefore, I have no good estimate for the overall CPU time. The search algorithm is described in this site, in the section "Improvement 7: Further, bigger groups of symmetries", at the end; it uses the group action "similarity on the torus".
Start of page
Prepared by Matthias Engelhardt
Mail to Matthias Engelhardt
 
last change: 2016-05-22
Address of page: http://nqueens.de/sub/WorldRecord.en.html

Aspekte des Damen-Problems
Home
Gruppen-Wirkungen
Such-Algorithmus
Symmetrie nutzen, normales Damen-Problem
Stammbäume
Besonderheiten
Halsbänder
Konflikte
Konflikt-Tabellen
Minimal-Lösung und gierige Folge
Tabellen von Zähl-Ergebnissen
Bilder für n=8
Torus Bilder für n=13
Andere Seiten und Kommentare
Weitere Quellen
 
 
Andere Themen
Anzahl Primzahlen, die man als Summe von Faktoren erhält
Primzahl aus falscher binomischer Formel
Zahlen nach Primfaktor-Verteilung
 
 
 
Diese Seite in einer anderen Sprache
Englisch

Weltrekorde beim Damen-Problem

Weltrekord und Weltmeisterschaft beim Damen-Problem

Die Anzahl der Lösungen für immer größere Bretter zu bestimmen ist eine große Herausforderung. Das gilt besonders für das "normale" Damen-Problem, in geringerem Maße auch für das Torus-Problem. Die "normalen" Lösungen sind deutlich leichter zu finden, aber es gibt auch viel mehr von ihnen. Beim Torus-Problem kann man hingegen die Symmetrien viel besser nutzen.

Es ist natürlich eine Frage, ob man eine neue Zahl für ein noch größeres Brett als Weltrekord bezeichnen soll. Das tun wir hier, jedoch ohne dies Bier-ernst zu nehmen. Praktisch stellt man eine neue Zahl, die man gefunden hat, in die On-Line Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences. Damit ist dann der Rekord dokumentiert. Eventuell kommen dann Nachfragen nach Teil-Ergebnissen, so dass die neue Zahl auch bestätigt werden kann.

Neben den reinen Zählungen gibt es auch eine Weltmeisterschaft; bei dieser geht es darum, welches Team, ausgerüstet mit Programm und meist speziellen Computern, ein schon bekanntes Teil einer Zählung am schnellsten durchführen kann. Die letzte mir bekannte Weltmeisterschaft fand 2007 in Peking statt.

In der folgenden Tabelle fasse ich zusammen, was ich über die Weltrekorde weiß. Dabei kommt ein paarmal INRIA vor; das ist die Abkürzung für "Institut National de Recherche en Informatique et en Automatique", Frankreichs nationales Institut für Informatik und Automatisierung.

Das nomale Damen-Problem

bis n=11 Die Zahlen wurden in mühsamer Handarbeit bis 1890 ermittelt
n=12 und n=13 A. Kopfermann aus Berlin ermittelt die Zahlen; leider schleicht sich ein Fehler ein. 1971 findet Mark B. Wells am Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory (USA) die richtigen Zahlen mit einem Computer.
n=14 bis n=20 Mit Computern findet man zwischen 1972 und 1997 die Zahlen; wer dies im Einzelnen war, weiß ich leider nicht.
n=21 bis n=23 Sylvain Pion und Joel-Yann Fourre von INRIA, 1998. Sie verwenden 300 Prozessoren, die zwei Monate lang suchen und zählen.
n=24 Ein Web-Projekt, NQueens@home, auf der BOINC Plattform berechnet die Zahl; leider kommte es dabei zu unbemerkten Überläufen, die Zahl ist falsch (zu klein). Am 1.September 2004 hat Kenji KISE aus Japan die richtige Zahl für Q24 gefunden.
n=25 Denis Caromel (Universität Nizza und bei INRIA) findet im Jahr 2005 die Zahl Q25. Dazu verwendet er 260 normale PCs, die etwa ein Dreivierteljahr laufen.
n=26 Am 11.Juli 2009 geben Thomas Preußer, Bernd Nägel, Rainer Spallek von der TU Dresden die Zahl Q26 bekannt. Um sie zu finden, verwenden sie FPGAs (= field programmable gate array). Nach eine Veröffentlichung vom März 2009 sind es 11 Computer mit 377 FPGAs.
Kurz darauf, den 30.August 2009, bestätigt das russische Projekt MC#, die Zahl. Das Projekt hat dazu zwei Super-Computer, die Nummern 54 und 82 aus der Liste der Top500-Computer vom Juni 2009 verwendet. Sie haben dafür vom 19.November 2008 bis zum 30.August 2009 gebraucht (ich weiß nicht, ob es nur um die sonst ungenutzte Zeit ging, oder ob die Zeit komplett verwendet wurde).
n=27 Thomas Preußer von der TU Dresden mit seinem Team hat es am 19.September 2016 wieder geschafft:
Q27 = 234.907.967.154.122.528.
Wieder waren es FPGAs, die sich seit 2009 deutlich verbessert haben. Ein weitere Punkt: die Symmetrien wurden erstmals besser genutzt (siehe auch Symmetrien nutzen beim normalen Damen-Problem). Dazu hat das Projekt in der Vorbelegung und Aufteilung den kompletten Rand verwendet, und nicht nur die ersten Zeilen oder Spalten. Konkret einen zwei Felder breiten Rand, statt der ersten sechs Spalten bei n=26. Nachzulesen ist dies auch unter Neuer Weltrekord für Queens@TUD-Team, einer Seite der TU Dresden.

Das Torus-Damen-Problem

In der Torus-Variante gibt es nur dann Lösungen, wenn n nicht durch 2 und auch nicht durch 3 teilbar ist. Bis n=11 gibt es nur regelmäßige Lösungen, bei denen die Dame in der nächsten Reihe immer um die gleiche Anzahl Spalten verschoben wird. Erst mit n=13 wird es interessant.

n=13, n=17, n=19 Mir ist nicht bekannt, wer diese Zahlen zuerst ermittelt hat. Für Hinweise wäre ich dankbar.
n=23 Die Zahlen wurde zuerst in einem Projekt um die Programmiersprache LeLisp ermittelt, und zwar mit 20 SUN Workstations bei INRIA. Dazu brauchte es 267 Tage CPU-Zeit. Wann es genau war, weiß ich nicht, es muss jedoch vor 1994 gewesen sein.
n=25 17.Dezember 1999, durch den Autor dieser Seiten, Matthias Engelhardt; die Zählung brauchte etwa 4 Wochen CPU-Zeit auf einem 75 MHz Intel-Rechner. Algorithmisch war vor allem die Eingrenzung der Wertebereiche wichtig.
n=29 11.Januar 2001, ebenfalls durch den Autor dieser Seiten. Die Suche brauchte etwa 200 Tage CPU-Zeit auf einem 300 MHz Intel-Rechner. Beim Zusammenfassen der Lösungen war es ein 800 MHz Rechner, der etwa 2 Tage benötigte. Der Such-Algorithmus ist hier beschrieben; er verwendet die Gruppen-Wirkung "Torus-Kongruenz".
n=31 1.Mai 2005, ebenfalls durch den Autor dieser Seiten. Die Suche brauchte wieder etwa 200 Tage, in denen fünf PCs mit 120 MHz, 300 MHz, 800 MHz, 1,6 GHz und 1,9 GHz verwendet wurden. Dadurch ist die CPU-Zeit nur schwer abzuschätzen. Der Such-Algorithmus ist in dieser Seite am Ende beschrieben; er verwendet die Gruppen-Wirkung "Ähnlichkeit auf dem Torus".
Seiten-Anfang
Erstellt von Matthias Engelhardt
Mail an Matthias Engelhardt
 
last change: 2016-05-22
Address of page: http://nqueens.de/sub/WorldRecord.de.html